#rhizo14 week 1

I’ve signed up for a rhizomatic course about rhizomatic learning and I’m loving it so far.  The first video talked about “cheating” and collaboration, and immediately sparked thoughts about Jigsaw learning (which readers may remember is a technique I use in my tutorials, and is also something I am studying for my PhD in collaborative learning).  So far this is my favourite quote:

“From a rhizomatic aspect you’re not saying that knowledge is fixed. As a teacher you have to accept that you are no longer in charge of the knowledge, but instead in charge of the class.”  John Dakers, here

I think I’ll be using that quote a lot in my writing.  

About Nomad War Machine

Philosopher, Doctor Who lover, knitter, anarchist. Gets paid for being a Learning Technologist at the University of Glasgow. I am interested in theories and models of co-operative learning, in particular the Jigsaw Classroom, and I have just started a PhD about that sort of stuff. Twitter: @NomadWarMachine
This entry was posted in Learning, MOOC, Rhizomes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

